The Coalition thrives on the energy, vision and creative ideas of our members. Our committees reflect the Coalition’s inclusive membership — unique among all anti-fraud organizations. Insurers … government leaders … consumer groups … business partners … law firms … and other member organizations. They’re all deeply involved in our committees. Our leaders truly reflect the diverse partners that define the Coalition’s anti-fraud mission. 

For more information or to find out how to join a committee, contact the staff liaison below.


Mission: This is the Coalition’s chief governing committee. It sets our overall direction, strategy and operations. Executive Officers and Members are elected by the Board of Directors. Co-Chairs: Michelle Rafeld, NAIC and David Rioux, Erie Insurance. Staff liaison: Matthew Smith

Public Information 

Mission: Directs outreach programs to empower consumers to avoid scammers and report fraud, encourage honesty in all insurance dealings and helps build national awareness of fraud’s widespread damage. We deploy a large arsenal such as: social media, news coverage, infographics and consumer videos. Awards help tell the fraud story: Prosecutor of the YearJournalist of the Year and our Apollo Leadership Award. Also elects the annual Insurance Fraud Hall of Shame. Chair: Tom Donahue. Staff liaison: Arinze Ifekauche

Government Affairs

Mission: Oversees state and federal strategy — pursuing fraud laws and regulations to strengthen the fraud fight. Launches grassroots legislative campaigns. Helps organize support for strong anti-fraud laws … Drafts and updates Coalition model acts. Many states have adopted Coalition models — in whole or in part. Chair: Brent Walker, State Farm. Staff liaison: Matthew Smith

Legal Affairs 

Mission: Closely monitors Federal and state courts to identify major decisions affecting insurance fraud. Ensures the Coalition’s databases of state laws and regulations are regularly updated as a valuable member reference tool. Supports our amicus curiae brief program: by identifying cases and often drafting Coalition amicus briefs. Membership is by invitation only. Chair: Ross Silverman, Esq., The Katten Firm. Staff liaison: Matthew Smith

Amicus Review

Mission: Identifies important cases for filing amicus curiae (“friend of the court”) briefs in state and federal courts. Amicus briefs offer compelling legal arguments to influence major court decisions. These decisions set national precedents that support the fraud fight. Courts have cited legal arguments by the Coalition in decisions.  Chair: Jim Brown, Esq., University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, Professor of Law emeritus. Staff liaison: Matthew Smith


Mission: Conducts research whose data-driven findings help fraud fighters and other decision-makers better understand the fraud problem and fashion workable solutions. The Coalition is widely known for our recurring and one-of-a-kind studies. Study metrics and insightful analyses alert decision-makers to emerging trends that help influence policymaking and management directions. Chair: David Rioux, Erie Insurance. Staff liaison: Matthew Smith